top of page

What the Dunk?!

What Dunk!?

Nike killed it with this one guys. Nike SB partnered up with an artist from California, Thomas Campbell. They decided to put together a beautiful shoe, a shoe with so much swag, so much style, and perfect detail. That shoe is “What The SB Dunk.” Atlas Skateboarding teamed up with the two to create a special edition shoebox that will be exclusive to their San Mateo shop, with only 100 pairs of these flames that were dropped on July 1st. Nike also released the Thomas Campbell x Nike SB Dunk High stands on July 5th. I was lucky enough to be able to secure a pair through the SNKRS App. Shout out to Nike for killing it with making it so easy to grab a shoe with their SNKRS App.

If you look closely to the shoe you can see so many different styles of color and material. As part of Nike’s ‘What The…” series, this is the newest and latest SB collaborative Dunk. The shoe gives you a multi-color surface with various textures, designs, and materials that blend along the canvas of each shoe. The box is a blue Nike SB box. I was not lucky enough to get the special box. “Sneaker lovers can’t be choosers,” so I was happy enough to be able to get the shoe in general! The shoes come with white lacing (laced up) in addition the box includes a pair of orange laces. The shoe has so much going on that I am not sure if I would change the laces, but hey, if I am feeling loud, who knows

When I first opened up the box to this shoe I really was so amazed with how creative, beautiful, and detailed the shoe is. The first thing that came into my mind was “What The…” Not because that is what the shoe is called, because throughout my sneaker game life, there was a shoe I always wanted and that was the “What The KD.” And let me get it straight.. the KD 7. Nor those weird HALO looking like video game ones they make now... I thought the idea was brilliant. When I was younger I dressed myself.. Once my mom finally let me.. I was always wearing a denim Looney Toons jacket and a pair of Air Force ones. The principle is, I mixed matched my shoes, I wanted to be different, think different, be different, and express myself. Designing a pair of sneakers that are completely different has more personality than two that look the same. Being able to express your mood or your feelings in what you wear on your feet is why I love sneakers.

This shoe gives a statement. "You are feeling creative and want to express it." For sizing of the shoe, You can definitely go a half size down. I usually wear a Mens 7 in Nike, for these I could have had a snugger fit with a 6.5, the 7 feel fine, but if you need to go a half size down, it is possible. The only high top shoes I have in my collection are Jordan 1s. These by far, the instant I put my foot inside the shoe I could tell they were way more comfy. The sole on this shoe has more comfort than the previous models.

Overall, I love this shoe. I truly am grateful to have this a part of my collection with how rare and different it is. Some of my favorites part of the shoe include the popping go the orange tips on the white laces. I love how the materials change from denim to leather to suede. Lastly, I love the the “SB Nike,” is written in gold on the tongue. It almost looks like someone grabbed a white canvas, started a sketch, let their mind bring together so many ideas unplanned, then autographed the tongue in gold.

Well done Nike and Thomas Campbell

Brookeydoo Out.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page