top of page

React to Advanced Technology

Here we go, you guys have probably heard about the new Nike Lunar React. If you were lucky enough to cop this pair off Nike Plus Member early access... Props to you. February 22nd there will be a wider release of a couple different color ways. This was the only color way that was available for the early launch. Nike chemists spent three years dedicate in testing new materials and design methods. Finally, after 400 combinations, something was created, and the was Nike React. Nike claims the shoe is a game-changing innovation for runners and those who wish to rock the shoes for lifestyle. It’s all about the midsole cushioning, which Nike calls React. The name of this shoe is actually inspired by rubber-based compound that has been developed by Nike; the company says it will make for greater consistency in the manufacturing process.

Lets get into the specs and how this beauty originated… Originally introduced in June, 2017, the Nike React. This “foam” which is also known as “the react,” a foam found originated in the Nike brand basketball line. The Epic React is a follow from Nikes previous Lunar technology. You probably are familiar, have worn, or seen any of the lunar models. Personally, I loved the Lunar 6, the Photosynthesis model to be exact. I loved how firmness of the shoe and the stability it provided during longer runs and wore them to the ground. This new material was tested and modified by runners to make it a great performance shoe. Nike really wanted to bring to consumers the best technology possible in a running shoe so Nike brought the technology to its running line after determining the needs of runners are comparable to those of basketball players. After much time of testing to make greatness, it delivered a 13% greater energy return than the brand’s latest generation of Nike Lunarlon foam.

The layout of the shoe is beautiful. Starting with the upper we have a Flyknit material, making this shoe very breathable and light. While the upper is minimal, the tooling is exaggerated. Easy to lace and not too much pressure on the top of your foot. This shoe provides a lot of ventilation. Inside the shoe had me a little nervous when first unboxing this shoe, due to not a lot of padding, kind of bare on the bottom, but that defiantly fools you. The shoe is an instant ease of comfort right when you slide your foot into it. Nike used mathematical formulas to create afluid geometry that consisted of designers shopping the sole, matching athlete data/history to amplify performance.

Nike put a lot of effort and time in making sure that all this technology was made to last. Nike gave a test run to some runners to see how they felt in their run. However, these test runners did not know that the shoes had already had logged 500 miles on them. After the runners completed one milage they were told the truth. When they returned, they were asked how many miles they thought the shoes had on them. The highest answer was 100. The lowest was “brand-new.” And the average was around 15 miles.That’s what we call durable. This just goes to show that when Nike comes out with a shoe, time goes on, they focus on things they missed, and how they can make it better.

Many people try to compare this to the Adidas competitor Ultra Boost. Honestly, I do not know about you guys but I am so sick of every color of the rainbow Ultra Boost. In my opinion the best Ultra Boost they made was the 1.0 and 2.0 were also good. The more generations of this shoe the worse it got. The Nike Lunar React in comparison to Boost in my opinion is, the Nike Lunar Epic takes the gold. They are not too bouncy, the bottom gives a firm but yet cloudy feel that gives a spring and bounce. Where as the upper is breathable and has plenty of areas of ventilation.

Now, you know I have to hit you with the performance review of this shoe. I have not logged on too many miles, but I can tell you what I experienced. Before this model I was running in the Nike Zoom Fly. So far, I will give the Zoom Fly has my favorite, but it takes time. When you first run in a fresh pair of sneakers, it is not going to be any comparison to future runs. It definitely is a more springy and bouncer feel than the Zoom Fly and the Pegasus 34. I am a runner who runs on their toes, so that is why I favor the Pegasus 34 and the Zoom Fly because they give a firm and stable and less cushiony feel compared to the Lunar React. During my run I did like the spring feeling and made me want to focus on not running on my toes so much, because it is just horrible to do to your toes constantly.

I am very happy with the feeling these shoes give, with running and standing/casual walking. For sizing I went with the sizing I usually do with the Pegasus 34 and the Zoom Fly, which is a half size up from my usual Nike women sizing. I usually wear mens size 7’s for shoes that I do not plan on using for performance/working out. The reasoning behind this is that performance is made for a reason. Typically women have different shaping feet than men do, and to make sure you are getting something that is fitting to your body for performance, I recommend going with your gender for sizing. However, I could do a size 8 in these, which is why I ordered two. Oops…. Well good thing Nike has amazing customer service and lets you wear for 30 days. I plan to put some milage on the size 8 and evaluate my decision on the size then.

For styles and fits. If you plan on using this solely for performance, I would say go with your normal gym gear. Personally, I work out solely in Nike, Nike Lab gear, and Lulu Lemon. In my opinion these are the two best brands you can invest your money on. The materials used in both brands last and you sweat well in them. When I say sweat well, I mean you do not feel nasty, the material holds up, it dries quickly, and last longs. If you plan on rocking these to flex for the casual Instagram... Definitely joggers, track pants, tech fleece, or shorts. Hope that helps you get some slides in your DM.

Overall, I believe Nike killed it with these and I love the new style feign of yet an old classic running, but has a new feel with it. I am very excited to see all the color ways Nike is going to release in this new model shoe. If you missed out on scooping this pair early. February 22nd will be the larger release. Make sure to keep tabs on your local retailers.

Brookeydoo Out.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page