top of page

I Love Gold, Rose Gold

I said I was waiting to pull the trigger for a reason…

As you all know Nike launched the Lebron 15 in October. The first color way that dropped was called “Ghost..” When I first heard of the shoe releasing I was excited to see what Nike had to offer, since they wanted to get into the game of making a basketball shoe, more like a lifestyle shoe. Many of you that read my reviews and follow me, know I do not usually rock basketball sneakers. The only basketball style kicks I rock are really Jordan 1’s. Mainly because they are just casual and go with anything and everything. So when I heard Nike was making an effort to make the next generation of Lebron’s more causal and lifestyle I was intrigued. Especially since the previous generations of Lebrons have kind of been interesting looking to wear outside the court.

Lets get into the history behind the design of the Lebron 15 before we dive into the juicy details of these beautiful gems. It was designed by Jason Petrie, who has been worked on every Lebron since the Lebron 7. Jason spoke about designing the new silhouette in a interview with Nike, as he gave insight about the shoe’s new tech, “BattleKnit” and why it was used on the LeBron 15, the new tooling it sits on, as well as other nuances of this newest model. The model features sock-like construction with a mix of new Flyknit upper with a cushioning unit that combines Max Air and Zoom Air. I am all about flyknit technology, so when I first saw the Ghost color way I instantly fell in love. However, I soon began hearing rumors of a collaboration with Kith and Nike on releasing a special pair I decided to hold off on the previous color ways that Nike released, even though some were hard to pass up.

So the rumor became a reality. Kith and Nike dropped the “Long Live the King Collection.” The collection featured 3 different styles of the Nike Lebron 15. This collaboration was made to celebrate Lebron James birthday, 12/30, the date that all 3 sneakers released. One style was the performance, which is the Rose Gold color way. The other 2 shoes that dropped were categorized as “Lifestyle” sneakers. One pair was a multi color sneaker with a “Long Live the King” strap, and the other sneaker featured the same details but in more of an ash color way. All 3 sneakers were exclusive to Kith’s website and related at midnight. So if you missed out at midnight, it sucks to suck. The sneakers also released in New York City at Kiths location. What really impressed me was that the store did a revamp in decorating the store in a "King Style" theme. This is really why I love Kith. I have said it before in other posts, if you ever venture to New York City make sure you stop and check the store out. They have numerous brands in clothing and sneakers that are all pure fire. Not to mention you can also get yourself a delicious treat!

At first when I saw all 3 of the sneakers I really admired the lifestyle pair, the multi color silhouette. Then, I started thinking about it more the closer it came to drop day… My thoughts consisted of this, “I LOVE ROSE GOLD!” So When they dropped online at midnight on Kith’s website, I flipped my choice of kicks and it ended up costing me a big “L.” So, I bet you are wondering how I have these sneakers then, huh? After scrolling through Instagram the next day after I struck out, seeing multiple pairs of people stunting in the glistening snow with their beautiful rose gold kicks, I decided to place a bid on Stock X for about 40 bucks over retail. Mind you I also had a $20 off promo, so i ended up getting my pair for honestly a tad over retail.

Okay, so here is my view on these beautiful kicks… Honestly, the pictures speak for themselves. They are beautiful. The color that they decided to use for this shoe makes it look not only clean, but classy. The zipper really makes the shoe have such character. The zipper allows you to style the laces differently in how you want to wear the sneaker. Personally, I like to just do the regular style lace up, but whatever floats your boat. Another thing that I really love about this collaboration is the design of the box. The box is beautiful, it almost reminds me of a super cool Chinese restaurant for whatever reason. For sizing, I went my true to size, however if I had to go a half size down I am sure i could but the size 7, my true to size fits very comfortably.

Overall, i am so happy to have these in my collection and happy I was able to get them slightly over the retail cost. For me, these just are not another pair of sneakers. It has more of a meaning, a brand that I love and an athlete that I admire and who is a total BEAST.

Brookeydoo Out.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page