top of page

Hidden Treasures

Back in 2016 The German technical lifestyle brand, Acronym, teamed up with Nike once again following its successful “Air Force 1” makeup to produce some heat for your feet.

Nike Lab teamed up with Acronym and released 3 sneakers in 3 different color ways. We all know Nike Lab produces straight fire shoes that are super sleek, eye catching, and form to your foot with the craziest color way complimenting it and with Acronyms style of tailored outerwear that focuses on textiles and materials, they killed it!

Before I get into the story of the shoe, lets talk about my history with it. Last year, I purchased for resell, a pair of the Bamboo color way of the sneaker. I immediately fell in love with the shoe and to sum it up I ended up selling it… WHY?! I still ask myself this question everyday. Part of the reason on why I sold the shoe is because, with Presto sizing it runs differently than many shoes. They either come in XXXS, XXS, XS, S, M, or L. On each box it will if you the range for the size that matches up with a number. For example, XXXS is equivalent to a size 6-7.

When I first purchased this shoe I got the XXS, which is a size 7-8. I was thinking that it would be okay, but as it turned out I did have some room in the shoe. If you are considering a Presto with this type of sizing, you can definitely go down a half size or even a full. For me, personally, I like my shoes to fit a little snug, not a fan of a lot of room especially on shoe that is meant to be really fitting to your foot. After I sold the shoe, months went by, I ended up seeing someone with it. I will say, I have never in my life have seen anyone wearing these shoes. That is a big part of the reason also why I regretted selling the shoe. So many Yeezy’s are hyped up and so many people have them. This shoe is a prime example of one of a kind! This is a total grail and super limited.

With Acronym being part of the branding of the shoe, it was first released in Germany and then released to the US in September of 2016. This shoe is beautiful and so unique in various ways. The German brand, Acronym being known for their technical pieces, reworked the Air Presto Mid alongside NikeLab in three eye catching color ways, Neon or Multicolored, Olive/Black, and Black/Bamboo. It all starts with a classic combination of lightweight mesh complimented by soft neoprene. This material molds to the shape of your foot giving comfort and breathability. Even though this is a light weight shoe, it is extremely durable. The presto Acronym kills it with adding a waterproof zip is stamped to the sidewall which gives a full boot-like fit, thanks to Errolson Hugh. So for those who are worried about wearing their kicks in the rain and snow, have no fear, that zipper is here!

So, I know what you are asking… This shoes released back in September of 2016, and I sold my Bamboo color way and now I am wearing these?! Let’s just say I got these for a STEAL. If you have ever been slightly interested in this shoe, you know that the resell is up there for sure! You will not find any size listed for under $500-$1000 and up. The smaller sizes have the higher price tags as well, so if you cannot find a steal like I did… You may have to break that piggy bank. So, I have had these on my list of sneakers that I have been wanting to purchase for awhile now. I was on scrolling through eBay and came across these Nike Lab Presto Acronym Volt, that were pre-owned. I did some negotiating with the seller, and ended up getting these a tad over retail. It is actually funny, because this color way was the one I wanted all a long. Picked them up from the post office and introduced the sneaker to some Jason Marks for a full cleaning, and here they are, stunting.

Finally, not because Jerry Lorenzo has the pair, but because I was able to do some research and purchase some pre owned heat to add to my collection. The story behind this blog is, do not turn your back to a pre owned shoe. Especially if it can save you a lot of money. All you sneaker heads know, the addiction is real, but why limit yourself when someone else treasure can become yours. Never be afraid to negotiate, chances are someone selling usually needs the money more than the shoes, so do not sleep!

Brookeydoo Out.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page