top of page

Be Like Mike

Who do you want to be like... Mike?

Nike is killing the game with the collaborations for the year of 2017. I was lucky to pick this pair up from my local Foot Locker. These shoes come in a special edition box with branding of Gatorade and Nike. Why did Joran brand decide to do this collaboration with Nike you ask?The collaboration was inspired by the classic Gatorade flavors, the pairs from the pack come dressed a tonal hues that consists of Orange Peel, Blue Lagoon, Rush Violet, and Cyber leather. The uppers are equipped with the embossed Nike Air leather tongue tags, the Gatorade lightning logo on the heel, the branded insoles and transparent outsoles that reveal even more Gatorade branding. The quality of these sneakers is out of control. Some compared the leather to be just like the Jordan 1 Shattered Backboard.

Now, with all these colors why did I choose the Orange!? I do not have any pairs in my collection with such a unique style and totally orange! In my opinion, the orange was the best out of the pack that dropped. My next favorites would be the Lime, Blue, and then Purple. I was a little disappointed with the purple compared to the other color ways that dropped. Purple is my favorite color so when I was first reading and seeing this pack drop it was my first choice. When I began to see video reviews and on feet pictures, the orange won me over. However, after watching a fellow sneaker bro, Sean Go, review of the Jordan 1 in the purple, it did make me want to grab a pair. however, self control people!

When announcements began rolling out for this pack it was first stated that the Purple was going to be the most limited. After a week or two it was announced that the Lime was going to be the most limited release. They were right about that… When these dropped I wanted to grab the Lime as well with the favorite choice, but the Lime instantly sold out on the SNKRS APP and was no where to found in any of my local retailers.

Lets get into some details! I purchased the Grade School version of this shoe. It was $150 US. Now, I was taking the risk knowing that the mens packaging was on point. With an exclusive box (themed for the Gatorade collection) and a Gatorade towel, I was nervous that the grade School would have gotten just a basic box. In experience with other releases sometimes when buying Grade School pairs you run into that risk, however with this shoe you do not! So I suggest if you wear a mens 7 or anything under the mens sizing, go for the Grade School and save yourself a couple bucks.

Overall, I am in love with the quality of the shoe and very happy about the color way I decided to choose. The little hints of Gatorade branding and the quotes of being “Like Mike,” really sealed the deal for me. Not to mention the towel that was included with the sneakers. This truly is why I love when Nike does a collaboration, especially with Jordan Branding. Nike has killed it with these Jordan releases in 2017 and I am really looking forward to more Jordans for the year of 2018.

Brookeydoo Out.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page